Ever heard of a Samsung Maxima Zoom 90i?

I was looking for a point-and-shoot zoom to add to my collection of cameras with at least 28mm lens on the wide end came across this number. I’d never heard of it and couldn’t find much about it online, but after looking at the specs, I came to realize that it’s a clone of the Rollei Prego 90 – sans the famous label – at a fraction of the price.

The camera is quite chunky, but comes loaded with features, among them a 28-90 zoom, f3.6-9.8, but I shot an expired roll of Kodak Max 400 so I really can’t fairly judge how it renders color. Still, I think this one’s a keeper.

One Response to “Ever heard of a Samsung Maxima Zoom 90i?”

  1. I haven’t heard of this particular Samsung, but I did test a similar Maxima Zoom 105 and a Slim Zoom 1150. I found Samsung’s film point-and-shoots to be overly fussy to use (too many modes/features) but gave good results. And since no one cares about these cameras, they are usually very, very cheap.

    I wrote about the Slim Zoom 1150 at 35mmc:
    https://www.35mmc.com/22/10/2021/samsung-slim-zoom-1150-review/

Leave a comment