Voigtlander Perkeo I

On the waterfront

Finally got a change to take out my Voigtlander Perkeo I medium format camera. This was a Sunday morning in early February, turned out to be much colder on the Lake Champlain waterfront than I expected. The chill wind made it difficult to handle all the levers and such that it takes to take a hand-held meter reading, advance the film, set the shutter and aperture and arm the shutter.

Voigtlander Perkeo I, 75mm f4.5 Vaskar lens.

There were at least three Perkeo models, the I being the very low-end made in the early 1950s. The II had a Skopar lens, and the III had an uncoupled rangefinder. They all  shoot 6×6 images on 120 film. This was a test roll, Chinese film that I picked up too cheap. It turns out the film kept binding when I tried to advance a frame, and I ended up with only  seven images, where I should have gotten 12. You get what you pay for. The camera worked surprisingly well. Unfortunately, I only have low quality scans I got when I got the film developed and my scanner can’t handle negative larger than 35mm.

5 Responses to “Voigtlander Perkeo I”

  1. Wow. Beautiful photo! I am a WordPress photographer too, so I love seeing these kinds of posts! Great job, keep it up.

  2. I dunno, I like the gritty quality of the image. A better scan might only mess that up!

  3. Your style is so unique in comparison to other folks I have read stuff from.

    Many thanks for posting when you’ve got the opportunity, Guess I’ll just bookmark this
    site.

Leave a Reply

