On the road with the Canon P, untested

Pacifica Pier

Canon P w/Jupiter 8 and Voigtlander VC II meter

Can’t say it was the smartest thing to do, but I ended up taking a vintage rangefinder I had never used before on a week-long trip to the Bay Area.  I had won the Canon P in auction  and the camera arrived only a few days before I was set to leave. I didn’t have enough time to run a test roll through it and get it developed, but the rangefinder felt so right in my hands and I could find no obvious problems with it so I took a chance.

The Canon P lived up to its reputation, being solid and dependable, with a nice, bright viewfinder and all the knobs and buttons where you would expect them to be. I’m still not wild about the Jupiter 8, but at f2, it’s the fastest LTM lens I own, so it won a place in my bag for the trip along with the Jupiter 12 and  Elmar 9cm. Turns out I almost never switched lenses.

This was also the first time I shot with the HP5. I didn’t know quite what to expect, but I’m more than pleased with the results. I’m not obsessed with film type and I like a little grain in my pictures. The Ilford seems to fit the bill. A couple more  shots from the roll:

Alcatraz

Pacifica Pier

2 Responses to “On the road with the Canon P, untested”

  1. I like your blog, it’s my kind of photography.

Leave a Reply

