Other favorites: Fed 2, Olympus XA

I didn’t want to load up each post from my Japan trip with too many photos so I kept the gallery lean. Here are a few more that didn’t make the first cut, but still count among my favorites from the trip. I generally like sharp lenses with strong contrast, especially when I’m

shooting black and white. The Jupiter 8 certainly meets those criteria when stopped down. Unfortunately, I’m not in the habit of recording f-stop and shutter speed when I’m out shooting. I just fiddle with the dials until the exposure is right, keeping in mind things like depth of field and back lighting.

First the Fed 2. Theses were all taken with the Jupiter 8 (50mm, f2) on Kodak Tri-X.

Mishima Shrine, Uwajima, Shikoku

Doi Pearls, Uwajima, Shikoku

Doi Pearls, Uwajima, Shikoku

Itsukushima Shrine, Miwajima, Hiroshima

Shibu Onsen, Nagano

Shibu Onsen, Nagano

And a few from the Olympus XA. These were shot on Fujifilm Superia 400. On these landscape shots, you really get the sense that the 35mm on the XA is a wide-angle lens.

Tokyo Tower from the I-House, Roppongi

Itsukushima Shrine, Miwajima, Hiroshima

Itsukushima Shrine, Miwajima, Hiroshima

3 Responses to “Other favorites: Fed 2, Olympus XA”

  1. Just curious….if you wanted to go from being an amateur photographer to someone who was stepping into more of a professional photographer, what camera would you go for? With great zoom, and able to have it be user-friendly? Thanks….

  2. Thanks for looking in. I’m afraid I’m not a professional photographer, although have several colleagues who take picture for a living. I think they will tell you that the equipment doesn’t really matter as long as it’s reliable (Canon and Nikon seem to rule the roost among journalists). Any camera system from a major maker would do. However, I do notice that they always carry a big telephoto – 300mm. They’re journalists and they like to get in close. I also know photographers who like a wide angle lens for the different perspective.

  3. Thanks, I appreciate for the considerations….I am looking. I know it is an important investment, so I want to get a lot of counsel and feedback from you folks that know….Have a great one, I appreciate it.

Leave a Reply

