Back from Japan: Part 2 – Olympus XA

On Seijo-maru, off the coast of Uwajima, Shikoku

The next camera in the line up is the Olympus XA. This is the rangefinder version of the series with the 35mm f/2.8 lens and aperture priority AE. I took it as the camera to keep in my pocket for quick shots and I had it loaded with Fuji film Superia X-tra 400 print film. This is your basic color negative film, cheap but very forgiving.

I was a little disappointed with this camera. The tiny focus lever under the lens proved to be hard to maneuver and I could never seem to find it by feel, which means I had to keep taking the camera away from my eye. Maybe I need more practice. What I did like was the sharp 35mm focal length, and f/2.8 proved to be more than bright enough for most situation. The camera was also good for slipping into my pocket when I wanted to walk around without carrying a bag.

The camera is missing the XA series’ trademark orange shutter button, probably the reason I was able to pick it up for $10. I just put a piece of masking tape over the hole to keep out the dust and had no trouble once I figured out where I needed to press to trip the shutter.

Olympus XA rangefinder, aperture priority AE, 35mm f2.8 lens

Now for the pictures:

"Anpan-man train," Okayama-Uwajima express

Taikodani Inari Shrine, Tsuwano

Taikodani Inari Shrine, Tsuwano

Karaoke bar, near Kabuki-cho, Shinjuku, Tokyo

International House, Roppongi, Tokyo

Leave a Reply

