Back from Japan: Part 1 – the Fed 2 w/Jupiter 8

Temple lantern, Itsukushima shrine, Hiroshima

Been back from my Japan trip for a couple of weeks, and finally finished the first pass at editing and cleaning up the photos. Getting them out to the family came first. Now I can think about what I’ve got.

I took three cameras: A Fed 2 with a Jupiter 8 50mm f/2, Jupiter 12 35mm f/2.8 and an Elmar 9cm f/4 lens; Olympus XA with the 35mm f/2.8 lens and a little P&S Canon Prima Mini with a 32mm f/3.5 lens.

First the Fed 2.  I’ve had some practice with this camera and like the feel.  I shot Tri-X  almost exclusively with the Jupiter 8. This was a family vacation, and we were on a tight schedule with very little wandering time. Changing lenses prove to be too much of a hassle, and I liked the idea of getting used to a single focal length so that I s my mind easier.

This was the first time I had used the J-8 extensively, and I’m pretty happy with the results. The combination with the Tri-X meant pronounced graininess in some situation, but that’s a look I like and the reason I chose Tri-X which I had shot extensively in college over my usual Fuji Neopan. I liked having just one  main lens on this camera. In most situations, changing lens in the filed wasn’t worth the hassle. If I wanted to shoot wider, I’d mount the J-12 before heading out for the day. As usual, I had almost no real use for a longer lens, even just a 9cm,more useful in a formal, set-up type situation.

Did have one near disaster. After the first roll, the screws on the lens mount on the Fed came loose,  so bad that the metal plate around the lens hole was rattling around. I had to go find a set of jeweler’s drivers in a Tokyo dollar (100 yen) shop to fix it.

Fed 2 w/Jupiter 8 50mm f2 and Voigtlander VC II light meter

Too many words. Now for the pictures.

Fed 2, Jupiter 8 50mm f/2, Kodak Tri-X 400

Torii gate, Mishima Shrine, Uwajima, Shikoku

"Onsen tamago" (eggs boiled in hot spring water), Shibu Onsen, Nagano

Coffee shop with Showa-era school room theme, Shibu Hotel, Shibu Onsen, Nagano

Temple bells, Ryoanji, Kyoto

Torii gate, Itsukushima shrine, Hiroshima

Leave a Reply

